top of page

Studying Abroad in Firenze // Florence, Italy


"Through these old streets I wander dreamily; Around me Florence sweeps her busy tide of life."

-William Leighton

During my time studying abroad, I lived in Florence for about a month in a little apartment on a street called Via di Neri. We lived right next to the Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore, but most people just referred to it as Il Duomo. Our apartment was the perfect little habitat for me and my friends. While it had no air conditioning, we made so many fun memories in that little apartment.

Via di Neri is right next to the Ponte Vecchio, which is the oldest bridge in Florence. It's also located right next to a couple of bars that saw a lot of me, especially during my 21st birthday. (The Red Garter, you have a piece of my heart - and some memories that I don't remember and probably won't want to haha.)


We drank wine for class, took afternoon trips to gelato shops, ate loads and loads of delicious food, and just had a blast. I mean, when did wine + great foods + friends not equal an amazing time, right???

This was some of the BEST gelato I've ever had. It was a mixture of a sorbet and cream-based gelato with cherries and vanilla. The perfect blend of tart and creamy!

This blurry shot of dinner was from my 21st birthday that my girls treated me to! It was handmade pasta with bolognese, a caesar salad and a white wine.The restaurant was right next to our apartment and had such a cool story: the original owners were nobleman centuries ago, and had a wine cellar on the first floor which was where where the restaurant was currently located. To keep with the wine theme, they house an impressive wine selection and many of their dishes feature wine. The meal was absolutely delicious and the perfect start to my 21st birthday celebrations. We went out to The Red Garter afterwards, so you know it turned out to be a great time. ;)

Just me frolicking around the streets of Florence!

Here's a view of the Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore again...isn't it amazing?! We walked by this beaut every time we had class. I felt so lucky and still do when I think back on those times. All those homecooked dinner + wine nights, mornings we struggled to get to class from the wild nights we had out at The Red Garter the night before, spontaneous trips to the Amalfi Coast, all the amazing food and drinks, the people we met along the way, the long talks deep into the night about our lives and what was in store for us post-college...the list goes on and on. Anyways, so thankful for amazing memories like those with sweet friends to share them with.


Thank you so much for reading about my Italy adventures! Explore the blog more to see where else I've gone, or check out my other blog: https://lavitavivi.com/ for some fun style, beauty and lifestyle musings.


Until next time,

Viv

bottom of page