top of page

My Favorite Place in the World: Part II // Capri, Amalfi Coast, Italy


"When life hands you lemons, make limoncello."

-Unknown

Capri might sound familiar to you since Caprese (salad of alternating tomato slices, Buffalo mozzarella cheese, and fresh basil leaves dressed with extra virgin olive oil and salt) translates literally to "salad of Capri". Capri is one of many islands that forms the Amalfi Coast, but is the one that holds the most precious little beach that I cherish as my personal paradise (pictured above). In other words, when I die I want to be sent to Capri, Italy.

Our hotel was in another part of the Amalfi Coast called Sorrento, which is where most travelers stay due to its proximity to the ferry (the closest one that takes you to Capri, might I add). ​I stayed in Hotel Londra, which was a quiet little hotel that was about a mile away from the bus stop that took us down to Positano. Be wary that this bus ride can get a little lengthy since there are always many tourists crowding the public transportation.

Moving on to some great food, I got my caprese fix at The Wine Shop, located in a little nook right before landing on the rough pebbly beaches. I added prosciutto (Italian dry-cured ham) to mine, and picked up a package of pickled green olives as my side. With an ice-cold bottle of crisp Italian water, this light meal is seriously all sorts of goodness. The tomatoes in Italy are just insane; it makes our produce look like a joke. They're other-worldly in regards to juiciness, sweetness, and intensity. The olive oil drenches the sandwich in the best way and soaks into the crusty Italian loaf.

Capri is relatively small so it's easy to get around and visit for a day trip. After lunch you should use the cable cars to go up to the top of the hill. There you will find the most refreshing cup of granita (frozen dessert made of sugar, water, and fruit juice or pulp). The obvious choice would be the lemon granita, but since cantaloupes were in season I ordered a granita cantalupo. The view is breathtaking and the cold icy treat puts you in a state of bliss that people dream about.


Thank you so much for reading about my Italy adventures! Explore the blog more to see where else I've gone, or check out my other blog: https://lavitavivi.com/ for some fun style, beauty and lifestyle musings.

Until next time,

Viv


bottom of page