top of page

Get Connected // Kyoto, Japan


"Travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.”

– Miriam Beard

The Arashiyama Bamboo Grove was just a path's walk away from our humble Air B n B. (To read about my arrival to Kyoto, click here!) If you're planning to make a visit, I highly recommend getting there as early as 7 AM to get really great pictures. Stop by a Lawson's, which is Japan's most popular convenience store chain, to grab an onigiri (rice ball). Take a moment to enjoy the amazing paths leading up to the grove while fueling up your body for the adventure ahead!

Follow the arrows to the grove entrance, which is undeniably one of the most serene sights you will ever see. I found this cute old couple walking their dog on the path! How cute are they?! #couplegoals

Look up and you'll see the enormous bamboo plants shooting up towards the sky. You can hear the wind brush through the leaves, birds chirping with one another, and wildlife crawling along the path. The air is cool and calming that it creates the most refreshing setting for a morning walk. It's such a sacred and untouched part of the world that makes you feel so small.

Pictured below is a magnificent river that we stumbled across while getting off the wrong train station. My small example hopefully shows you that it is possible to spin any "mistake" or "hiccup" into a beautiful moment. I mean, look at this gorgeousness!

Next on the journey was the Fushimi Inari Shrine. This is a great photo destination, and is the real-life emoji! (Go on your phone right now in the "building" section and there it is!!!) We only spent about an hour there because it was incredibly hot, crowded, and we had to carry our backpacks so we were exhausted. ​

​Near the entrance, you can find a row of vendors selling souvenirs, drinks, and traditional Japanese street food. I was SO HAPPY with my choice: a deep fried rice ball wrapped in thinly sliced pork, topped with sesame seeds, green onion, and mayonnaise. I'm just going to leave you with this picture...and just...yeah. I have no words.

So far, this adventure has been filled with amazing food, new friends, and the feeling of being independent and free. Do something today that feeds your soul! I'm currently in South Korea and finishing my drafts for the upcoming posts, so get ready!

Thank you so much for visiting me on my adventure, and don't forget to subscribe (scroll down and input your email), leave a comment, and follow me on Instagram (@la.vita.vivi)! Also, check out my style, beauty and lifestyle blog, La Vita Vivi, if you're into that fun stuff.

Until next time,

Viv

bottom of page