top of page

Okonomi-Yummy // Arashiyama, Kyoto, Japan


" A traveler without observation is a bird without wings."

-Molish Eddin Saadi

My visit to Kyoto was short, but it quickly became one of my favorite places I've ever been to. If you enjoy scenic walks along the river, the cool breeze, and the quaint charm of a small town, then the Arashiyama area of Kyoto will be your own personal paradise. There were so many beautiful treasures throughout the entire city, you could easily spend hours strolling the streets hugging the river.

I couldn't believe what I was seeing once this small town emerged. I arrived at dusk, so the sky was painted in the most beautiful and soft colors like it came from a dream. As the sun set and the night sky began to produce its cooler tones, the refreshing smell of the water hit me and I felt so at peace and amazed by this place.

To read about some more beautiful sites in Kyoto, click here!

The Air B n B host, Junko, was very friendly and helpful as every Japanese local had been to us thus far. The Japanese people are incredibly considerate and polite, which is great as a foreigner because they make you feel so accepted into their culture. We decided to go out and see the area, but quickly found out that everything was closing early. Luckily, Yelp saved the day once again and we found Naruse.

Naruse is an okonomiyaki (savory pancake) and yakisoba (fried noodle) restaurant. It's great for drinks, like an ice-hold Asahi beer, with friends while enjoying bar food that's griddled right in front of you. The tiny establishment seats about twenty-two guests, and is run by a husband and wife duo. I ordered tomato with mayonnaise (popular Japanese bar snack), a small salad (ginger-sesame dressing), and squid yakisoba.

My yakisoba came with cabbage, onions, and pickled ginger on top. The bottom bits of the noodles caramelized and became crunchy-in other words absolute perfection. I felt like I was eating at an extended family member's house, surrounded by simplicity and warmth.

Pictured also is my friend's kimchi and cheese okonomiyaki, which is traditionally topped with mayonnaise, katsuobushi or bonito flakes (dried, fermented, and smoked skipjack tuna), and furukake (Japanese seasoning of dried fish, sesame seeds, seaweed, sugar, and salt).

All of the fish and seaweed flakes might be odd to some people, but trust me: it's delicious. It makes anything you put on it more umami (savory taste), which is seriously out of this world. If you're looking for some great eats to go along with a well-deserved beverage of your choice, then Naruse is the perfect little spot for you!

If you've made it this far-thank you for taking the time to visit me here on Got To Viv It Up! I've been really excited to post these days so please let me know what you think by submitting a comment or subscribing on the Home page. You can also follow me on Instagram (@la.vita.vivi)! Also, check out my style, beauty and lifestyle blog, La Vita Vivi, if you're into that fun stuff.

I'm currently waiting to board my flight to South Korea, so stay tuned for future posts coming soon. My first meal there will most likely be Korean BBQ in the Hongdae region of Seoul...I can't wait!

Until next time,

Viv

bottom of page