top of page

The One Time I Hiked for 7 Hours Straight // Plitvice Lakes, Croatia


“There is a waterfall in every dream. Cool and crystal clear, it falls gently on the sleeper, cleansing the mind and soothing the soul.” ― Virginia Alison

One of the main reasons I wanted to visit Croatia was because of the famous Plitvice Lakes. It is known for its incredible waterfalls and intense hikes. The water is INSANELY blue and although a 7-hour hike sounds awful, it's really not that bad one you start going. Of course, if you hate hiking honestly this isn't going to convert you by any means, but it's a great challenge to accomplish even if you're not the biggest fan of hiking.


It's so funny to me now because I wasn't a fan of Game of Thrones AT ALL while I was on this trip, but even during our ride to the Plitvice Lakes, the driver was telling us all about the different GOT sites we were passing since they shot so much of their series in Split, Croatia (click here to read about my experience getting into Split). Now, I'm kicking myself in the butt because I am OBSESSED with the show and wish I had paid more attention back when I was in the places where they shot so many scenes.


Overall, I LOVED this experience so much. I met some amazing people in my group while we were hiking, and we had some really meaningful conversations about life, dreams, expectations, and what life could look like if you open your mind and take some leaps of faith. I know that almost sounds too deep for a hike with people you just met, but try spending all day with people while you're traveling solo and you're bound to end up talking to some people about some real life things.



Thank you so much for reading about my Croatia adventures! Feel free to explore the blog more to see where else I've gone, and check out my other blog: https://lavitavivi.com/ for some fun style, beauty and lifestyle musings.

Until next time,

Viv




bottom of page